Decatur County 4-H hosts Shotgun Match qualifier

19 Decatur County 4-H members participated in the 2019 Southwest District 4-H Shotgun Qualification Match on April 13th. Front Row from left to right: Brannon Fagan, Judson Findley, Grayson Griffin, Shelby Copeland, Kaden Smith, Blake Fagan, Michael Rich, Logan Rich, and Taylor Barber. Back row from left to right: Coach Todd Martin, Weston Powell, Cameron Bennett, Brendon Mitchell, Lance Adams, Dawson Jackson, Brannon Parker, Haydn Martin, John Willis Maples, Tristan Cochran, Brent Miller, Coach Tim Cochran, and Coach Jule Powell

On April 13, 2019, Decatur County 4-H hosted the Southwest District 4-H Shotgun Qualification Match at Commodore Park. Over sixty 4-H students from Seminole, Grady, Early, and Decatur counties participated in the prerequisite shooting bout to determine eligibility for the State Target Challenge Weekend to be held at Rock Eagle 4-H Center on May 10-11, 2019. Qualification requirements for junior members (seventh and eighth grade) include breaking 16 out of 25 clays and senior members (ninth through twelfth grade) hitting 20 of the 25 targets.

Decatur County 4-H junior team members of Logan Rich, Michael Rich, Blake Fagan, Judson Findley, and Lance Adams won 1st place for the junior team division.

Decatur County 4-H Junior Team members won 1st place in the junior team division at the Southwest District 4-H Shotgun Qualification Match. Team members from left to right are: Michael Rich, Lance Adams, Judson Findley, Logan Rich, and Blake Fagan

Bainbridge Middle School 4-H’er, Logan Rich, received 2nd place junior individual, breaking 24 out of 25 targets.

Logan Rich, center, won 2nd place honors for the junior individual division at the 4-H shotgun qualification match

Middle school 4-H’ers competing at the Southwest District 4-H Shotgun Qualification Match were: Brannon Parker, Lance Adams, Blake Fagan, Judson Findley, Michael Rich, Logan Rich, Shelby Copeland, and Grayson Griffin. All junior team members will advance to the 4-H Target Challenge at Rock Eagle in May.
High school 4-H’ers competing were: Brendon Mitchell, Dawson Jackson, John Willis Maples, Brannon Fagan, Brent Miller, Weston Powell, Kaden Smith, Haydn Martin, Tristan Cochran, Taylor Barber, and Cameron Bennett.

Team members have been practicing diligently each week since February under the guidance of dedicated volunteer coaches. Coaches for the Decatur County 4-H Shotgun Team are Jule Powell, Tim Cochran, Todd Martin, and Bobby Barber.

The Georgia 4-H Shooting Awareness,Fun and Education Program (S.A.F.E.)is sponsored by The Georgia 4-H Foundation. 4-H is the youth development program of the University of Georgia College of Agriculture and Environmental Sciences.

For more information about Decatur County 4-H, call the Decatur County Extension Office at (229) 248-3033.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *