RN Nursing Students Honored in Pinning Ceremony at SRTC

Left to Right – Bottom row: Bailey Merritt, Kaitlin Campbell, Jennifer Walker, Keri Miller 2nd row: Courtney Ogletree, Laci Jarrell, Elizabeth Charles 3rd row Janirah Coasey, Elizabeth Roland, Kayla Allen 4th row: Savannah Joslyn, Audreka Davis, Krystin Souter 5th row: Kaitlyn Palmer, Emili Todd, Katherine Clark 6th row: Lashica Haynes, Ashley Small, Heather Tillman, Kimberly Brown, Cody Vowell 7th row: Macey Conger, Stacy Green 8th row: Telia Alexandra, Amaretto Russell, Latoya Wooten

On May 2nd, Southern Regional Technical College (SRTC) held a pinning ceremony where 26 Associate of Science in Nursing (ASN) students from the LPN to RN Bridge program and the Generic ASN program were honored by receiving their nursing pins. The ceremony commemorates the students’ successful completion of their nursing coursework and clinical rotations. This class of nursing students will also participate in SRTC’s formal graduation ceremony and will officially be Registered Nurses (RN) pending the passage of their board exams. This graduating class represents students from both the Thomasville and Tifton campuses of Southern Regional Technical College.

In this pinning ceremony, which symbolizes the rite of passage into the nursing profession, each student received a pin and lights a small lamp. The pin is used to remind students of their purpose to serve the sick and infirmed. The lighting portion of the ceremony serves as a tribute to Florence Nightingale, the founder of modern-day nursing. In the 1800s Nightingale was known as the “lady with the lamp,” tending to the sick while carrying a lamp to light the way. At the ceremony, students also recite the Nightingale pledge stating their dedication to upholding the standards of being a nurse.

“This was a great group of students that will make awesome RNs. It was an honor to have each and every one of them in my class this semester. Where ever they go to work, the facility will be blessed with hard working nurses that love the profession.,” commented Terry Harper, MSN, Associate of Science Nursing Faculty

This pinning had student representatives from the generic Associate of Science in Nursing program and the LPN to RN bridge program. The students that received pins were: Bailey Merritt, Kaitlin Campbell, Jennifer Walker, Keri Miller, Courtney Ogletree, Laci Jarrell, Elizabeth Charles, Janirah Coasey, Elizabeth Roland, Kayla Allen, Savannah Joslyn, Audreka Davis, Krystin Souter, Kaitlyn Palmer, Emili Todd, Katherine Clark, Lashica Haynes, Ashley Small, Heather Tillman, Kimberly Brown, Cody Vowell, Macey Conger, Stacy Green, Telia Alexandra, Amaretto Russell, and Latoya Wooten
Among the 26 honorees were 7 students who were recognized with special awards. Those awards and their recipients are as follows: The Clinical Excellence Award recognized Lashica Haynes and Laci Jarrell. The Archbold Memorial Leadership Award was presented to Amaretto Russell. The Tifton Regional Leadership Award was given to Krystin Souter. The Nightingale Award recognized the accomplishments of Kimberly Brown and Heather Tillman. Finally, the Highest Exit Exam Award honored Courtney Ogletree and Laci Jarrell.

The Associate of Science in Nursing (ASN) program is designed to prepare students as entry-level practitioners to provide safe, effective nursing care and promote healthy transitions for diverse clients in a variety of settings. This program develops critical thinking, integrates accumulated knowledge from nursing, the sciences and humanities, and emphasizes the values of caring, accountability, responsibility and professional ethics. The SRTC ASN program has been granted approval by the Georgia Board of Nursing and is accredited by the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing (ACEN).
SRTC offers over 150 degree, diploma, and certificate programs that are designed to get you quickly into your desired career, and 27 general education courses that transfer to the University System of Georgia institutions and 19 private colleges and universities in Georgia. SRTC has instructional sites located in Ashburn, Cairo, Camilla, Moultrie, Thomasville, Tifton, and Sylvester for the convenience of our students. The College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC). SACSCOC is the regional body for the accreditation of degree-granting higher education institutions in the Southern states. For the most up-to-date information on registration, class dates, and program offerings, log on to www.southernregional.edu.

Summer Semester 2018 begins May 17th. Don’t wait, enroll today!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *