Bainbridge Georgia
Choose Site Search
Local Business

Bainbridge Decatur County Georgia Election Info

Decatur County GA
Board of Elections & Registrations,
122 West Water St.
Carol Heard, Chief Election Official
Election Info
Qualifying to run for a local city council seat will begin on Monday, Aug. 31, at 8:30 am and will run through 4:30 pm on Friday, Sept. 4, 2015. The cities of Attapulgus, Bainbridge and Climax, and the Town of Brinson are scheduled to hold municipal elections on Nov. 3. Persons seeking to run for office need to qualify in order to be on the ballot.

Qualifying will begin on Monday, Aug. 31, at the Decatur County Board of Elections and Voter Registration's office located at 122 W. Water St., which is in the Courthouse Annex across the street from the Firehouse Gallery. It will end on Friday, Sept. 4, at 4:30 p.m.

Among some of the qualifications for running for office in those municipalities are you must be a registered voter and you must be a resident of the city or within the district in which you intend to run. Candidates must also pay the qualifying fee outlined by each municipality, or a candidate may file a pauper's affidavit in lieu of paying the qualifying fee. No cash can be accepted for the qualifying fee; please only check or money order.

The following are the seats and qualifying fees for each municipality in Decatur County:
Bainbridge - There are three Aldermen seats up for election this year; Seat 4, District A, and Seat 5 and Seat 6, both in District B. The qualifying fee an Alderman seat is $90.
Attapulgus - The Mayor and all Council seats are up for election. The qualifying fee for Mayor is $35 and for a Council seat is $18.
Brinson - The Mayor and Council seats Post 1 and Post 3 are up for election this year. The qualifying fee for Mayor is $72 and $43.20 for Council seats.
Climax - Two Council seats are up for election this year. The qualifying fee is $20.
For more information, please call the Board of Elections and Voter Registration at (229) 243-2087.

2015 Election Dates
Municipal Qualifying period for candidates. Monday, August 31, (8:30am)
Friday, September 4, 2015 (4:30pm)
Advance Voting for Municipal Election begins. Monday, October 12, 2015
Municipal Election November 3, 2015
must register by October 5, 2015
City Council-Post 4, District A Luther Conyers, Incumbent
City Council-Post 5, District B Roslyn Palmer, Incumbent
City Council-Post 6, District B Don Whaley, Incumbent

Local Elected Officials, with date of next election
County-Wide Elected Officials (N denotes non-partisan)
Position Name   Election
Clerk of the Court Cecilia Willis D 2016  
Coroner Kenny Hollis D 2016  
District Attorney Joe Mulholland D 2016  
Probate Judge Edwin J Perry N 2016  
Sheriff Wiley Griffin D 2016  
Tax Commissioner Don Belcher D 2016  
County Treasurer Jerry Maxwell D 2016  
State Court Judge George Floyd N 2016  
Chief Magistrate Ralph Smith N 2016  
Superior Court Judge A. Wallace Cato N 2016  
Superior Court Judge J. Kevin Chason N 2016  
Solicitor General Ryan Cleveland R 2018  
Decatur County Commission   (Map of Districts)
Position Name District Election
County Commissioner George Anderson District 1 2018
County Commissioner Rusty Davis District 4 2018
County Commissioner William "Pete" Stephens District 6 2018
County Commissioner Butch Mosely District 2 2016
County Commissioner Dennis Brinson District 3 2016
County Commissioner Russell Smith District 5 2016
Decatur County Board of Education   (Map of Districts)
Position Name District Election
Board of Education Keith Lyle District 2 2018
Board of Education Sydney Cochran District 4 2018
Board of Education Jacky Grubbs District 6 2018
Board of Education Kelvin Bouie District 1 2016
Board of Education Winston Rollins District 3 2016
Board of Education Bobby Barber Jr. District 5 2016
Bainbridge City Council   (Map of Districts)
Position Name District Election
Mayor Edward Reynolds At Large 2017
City Council-Post 1 Glennie Cox Bench At Large 2017
City Council-Post 2 Joe Sweet District A 2017
City Council-Post 3 Phil Long District B 2017
City Council-Post 4 Luther Conyers District A 2015
City Council-Post 5 Roslyn Palmer District B 2015
City Council-Post 6 Don Whaley District B 2015

State/US Elected Officials
Position Name Election
US Senator David A. Perdue 2020
US Senator Johnny Isakson 2016
US Representative-District 2 Sanford Bishop 2016
State Senator-District 11 Dean Burke 2016
State Representative-District 171 Jay Powell 2016
State Representative-District 173 Darlene K Taylor 2016
Governor Nathan Deal 2018
Lt Governor Casey Cagle 2018
Secretary of State Brian Kemp 2018
Attorney General Sam Olens 2018
Agriculture Commissioner Gary Black 2018
State School Superintendent Richard L. Woods 2018
Insurance Commissioner Ralph T. Hudgens 2018
Labor Commissioner Mark Butler 2018

facebook  Share this page on Facebook