Marriage License Information
for Decatur County Georgia
The Probate Judge's office is located in the County Courthouse
on your left as you enter from the rear parking lot door.
A couple should know some things before obtaining a marriage license. Georgia no longer requires blood tests in applications for marriage licenses. A Georgia marriage license is good only in Georgia. The license may be obtained in one county for marriage in another Georgia county but the marriage will be recorded in the county where the license is purchased.
Georgia law allows couples that complete a six-hour premarital course to save $40 off their marriage license.
When the couple returns the notarized certificate to the Probate Court, the couple may then apply for their marriage license for $37 instead of $77.
Marriage License Process
If one or both parties are divorced, the Probate Court has to be presented with a copy of the final divorce decree with court's file stamp in order to proceed with getting a license. If either applicant is separated but still legally married or divorced and cannot show proof, the license is denied. If your former spouse is deceased, you must provide a death certificate prior to getting a marriage license.
The application stays with the Probate Court office, while the couple takes the license with them to be signed by the official clergy or judge performing the ceremony. The official or the couple should bring or mail the license as soon as possible to the Probate Court office.
The Probate Court clerk then issues a marriage certificate to the couple. The application and license are recorded in the county in which the license was purchased.As of June, 2010
|Home Page Bainbridge News Talk Bainbridge Business/Shopping Community Info comm login Biz Login Contact Us Advertise Here|
BainbridgeGa.com is maintained by DLS Internet Services
Contact BainbridgeGA / About Us